top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJulia Underwood

👍🏻🏞

👩🏼👀.👴🏼👋🏻.🚶🏻💻🏢.👩🏼🤔🙋🏼🙋🏼🙋🏼.👴🏼💬👉🏼👩🏼⚰,👉🏼👩🏼👻.👩🏼🤔🙋🏼⚰.👴🏼💬🛍🗑🛍🗑🛍🗑🛍🗑🏃🏼👉🏼🔄,👉🏼🚦🚗🏃🏼👉🏼🔄.👩🏼😯.🙋🏼💬👩🏼👍🏼👎🏼.👴🏼💬👍🏼🏞👎🏼🏞,👉🏼👩🏼👍🏼🏞,👉🏼👌🏼.👩🏼😌🙂.👩🏼👴🏼🚶🏼.🚶🏼🏘.👀🎬.


🎬👴🏼👋🏼👍🏼🏞👉🏼👍🏼👦🏼👧🏼👨🏼👩🏼👱🏼.👴🏼👴🏼👴🏼💭👉🏼🌎,➕🆚➖⚖.💯👍🏼🏞.👉🏼💏 👩‍❤️‍💋‍👩 👨‍❤️‍💋‍👨🚩👍🏼🏞.

👩🏼👀😍.


👩🏼👴🏼🚶🏼👍🏼🏘.👴🏼💬👋🏼🏡.👩🏼👎🏼🏡🤐.👴🏼💬👨🏾.👨🏾💬👋🏾👩🏼👉🏾💏.👩🏼😄.👴🏼➡.👩🏼👨🏾💬💬.👩🏼💬🙅🏼👍🏼🏞😐.👨🏾😲😧.👨🏾👩🏼🚶🏼👍🏼🏘💬.


👴🏼🖐🏼👩🏼👨🏾.👴🏼💬👋🏼👩🏾👨🏻.👩🏾😄,👨🏻❌💬.👩🏾👨🏻🍾🏠👋🏻🏘.


👩🏾👨🏻❌🏠.👩🏾👨🏻🏰.👩🏼😠.🍾👨🏾🤔💬👩🏼👍🏼.👩🏼💭👎🏼💭👎🏼💭👎🏼💬👎🏼.👩🏼🤔💬👫👬👭👎🏼.👩🏼👨🏾💬👫👬👭. 👫👬👭👍🏼.👩🏼😒😠🚶🏼🍸.👩🏼🍷🍸🍹.👩🏼👨🏾🚶🏼🏡😴.


🕗👩🏼👀🏘💨⚡💨⚡🐞🐸😲.👫👬👬 🏃.👫👬👭😲😫.👨🏾💬👉🏼👩🏼👉🏼💨⚡💨⚡🐞🐸👉🏼👩🏼👎🏼👎🏼🏞.👩🏼😣.


👩🏼💬👉🏾👨🏾🎓👩🏼👍🏼.


The above synopsis was created using: https://emojikeyboard.io/.

My above story is based off of a show. Retelling a plot (basic as it may be) using emojis was achieved, but capturing the experience and details that made the show enjoyable was not. This was due to the inability to capture all of the nuances of the setting, character interactions, tones of voices, and facial features. The show belongs to the comedy genre, but because of the lack of ability to communicate the nuances discussed, I do not think that the reader of my emoji story is aware that the episode I am retelling was quite funny.


Emojis are often used as a humorous response or as a way emphasize emotion; when I use emojis it is usually to help with those two things. In addition to my challenges communicating the humour of the show, I found communicating emotions of characters in the above story challenging as well. Emotions are not singular. They are layered and complex. Trying to communicate emotions can not be summarized with one face.


Using emojis as a way to tell a story made me think more deeply about the meaning that could be held by each emoji.


34 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


ray ding
ray ding
Jan 29

You can find a lot of emojis on the following websites,https://www.ilovemoji.com/ to try various combinations of emojis

Like

m.lyne.2010
Oct 14, 2019

I cannot begin to understanderstand your story, but I did notice how I skipped a lot of the icons and focused mainly on the face emojis. They provided the nuance of the story that the other icons referred to.

I found this interest as the face emojis were initially used to help convey emotions, and ultimately that is what I was looking for in your story!

Like
bottom of page