top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJulia Underwood

The Golden Record


In 1977, NASA sent a golden record into space to "portray the diversity of life and culture on Earth” (NASA, 2019). This record contains images, music, sounds, and verbal recordings from over the globe. More information about this project can be found at: https://voyager.jpl.nasa.gov/golden-record/. A description of what is on the record along with the complete list of songs can be found at https://voyager.jpl.nasa.gov/golden-record/whats-on-the-record/.


This week, we were given the task of narrowing down the 27 songs to 10. In true teacher style, my approach was to create a rubric (all be it simple) to help rank the songs. I chose three categories to focus on: emotional response, vocal and instrumental representation and complexity, overall enjoyment. Each category had 3 levels (1 being the lowest, 3 being the highest). I then listened to each song and assigned a 1, 2, or 3 to each category. Lastly, I calculated the total and then ordered them from highest score to lowest.


In order to complete my lists I listened to all of the songs off of YouTube. Connections began firing with regards to Abby Smiths article "Why Digitize" (1999); the songs I was listening to was a "digital surrogate" as it provided me with the information I needed but it is not the original format. It is an example of how digitization provides access to the masses and the ability to explore materials. Has listening to copies changed my perspective? Watching YouTube will never be the same again after that "aha" moment.


After tallying the scores, this is the initial list I came up with:


Stravinsky, Rite of Spring, Sacrificial Dance, Columbia Symphony Orchestra, Igor Stravinsky, conductor. 4:35


Bach, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F. First Movement, Munich Bach Orchestra, Karl Richter, conductor. 4:40


Beethoven, Fifth Symphony, First Movement, the Philharmonia Orchestra, Otto Klemperer, conductor. 7:20


Mozart, The Magic Flute, Queen of the Night aria, no. 14. Edda Moser, soprano. Bavarian State Opera, Munich, Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor. 2:55


"Melancholy Blues," performed by Louis Armstrong and his Hot Seven. 3:05


"Johnny B. Goode," written and performed by Chuck Berry. 2:38


Georgian S.S.R., chorus, "Tchakrulo," collected by Radio Moscow. 2:18


"El Cascabel," performed by Lorenzo Barcelata and the Mariachi México. 3:14


Bach, "Gavotte en rondeaux" from the Partita No. 3 in E major for Violin, performed by Arthur Grumiaux. 2:55


Beethoven, String Quartet No. 13 in B flat, Opus 130, Cavatina, performed by Budapest String Quartet. 6:37


When I looked at the list, I realized that my top songs support a westernized bias. This ties into Abbey Smith's Rumsey's statement that "we are creatures of the world in which we grow up in; our preference for things is influenced by our upbringing. As my criteria was based around my emotional response and my overall enjoyment, it demonstrates my preferences that have been learned through my own experiences and upbringing. So, I decided to redo my list.


My first list clearly showed a lack of cultural diversity, I decided to try again. My focus this time around was trying to do what the record was initially set out to do - provide an example of the diversity of our world. I started this process by putting songs by the same artists together, and then songs from a similar area together (ex. I put Bach, Mozart, and Beethoven in one group). I then selected one from each grouping. As there were only ten spots, I was not able to pick one from each culture. So, my decision was then influenced by which one sounded friendlier (sparked feelings of happiness or calmness) - this is potentially impacting the future relationships of humanity with other lifeforms after all. But I also understand that this is once again a biased decision. However, basing my decisions off of emotion is a very human thing to do.


This is my second list (and the one that I submitted):


Bach, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F. First Movement, Munich Bach Orchestra, Karl Richter, conductor. 4:40


Peru, panpipes and drum, collected by Casa de la Cultura, Lima. 0:52


"Tsuru No Sugomori" ("Crane's Nest,") performed by Goro Yamaguchi. 4:51


"Morning Star" and "Devil Bird," recorded by Sandra LeBrun Holmes. 1:26


"Jaat Kahan Ho," sung by Surshri Kesar Bai Kerkar. 3:30


"Flowing Streams," performed by Kuan P'ing-hu. 7:37"Melancholy Blues," performed by Louis Armstrong and his Hot Seven. 3:05


"El Cascabel," performed by Lorenzo Barcelata and the Mariachi México. 3:Bulgaria,


"Izlel je Delyo Hagdutin," sung by Valya Balkanska. 4:59


Throughout this process, I found myself having several curiosities about the record. First of all, how were songs chosen? The answer that was provided by NASA was:


“The contents of the record were selected for NASA by a committee chaired by Carl Sagan of Cornell University, et. al. Dr. Sagan and his associates assembled 115 images and a variety of natural sounds, such as those made by surf, wind and thunder, birds, whales, and other animals. To this they added musical selections from different cultures and eras, and spoken greetings from Earth-people in fifty-five languages, and printed messages from President Carter and U.N. Secretary General Waldheim.” (NASA 2019)


To be honest, I didn't find this answer particularly insightful. It did not list the committee members, their qualifications, or how they were selected to form the committee. This is something that I want to look into further.


The second question I found myself pondering was around the idea of cultural diversity that they stated as one of the main focal points for the record. How did they decide what cultures to represent? Was the culture being represented consulted on the song that was being selected to represent their culture? This tied into my third question around the decision to include multiples of the same genre, and in some cases composer. If there are limited tracks and the goal is to represent diversity, why repeat? The answers to these questions require more research, but either way, I believe it will provide insight into ideas around knowledge and power.


References:


NASA (2019) The golden record. Retrieved October 25, 2019 from https://voyager.jpl.nasa.gov/golden-record/


Smith Rumsey, A. (1999, February). Why Digitize? Retrieved October 25, 2019, from Council on Library and Information Resources website: https://www.clir.org/pubs/reports/pub80-smith/pub80-2/


Smith Rumsey, A (2017). Digital memory: what can we afford to lose. Retrieved October 25, 2019 from https://youtu.be/FBrahqg9ZMc

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page